Visits

Paper Economuseum

The Papeterie Saint-Gilles invites you to meet with the artisans who make paper by hand, according to the ancient tradition that came long before us. China and the Arab world being its foreruners, cotton-based paper production became popular throughout the Western world around the 13th century.

Visit our unique worshop in a lovely historical building where you will discover the art of papermaking. You’ll go through the various steps of papermaking, its history and the origins of the Papeterie Saint-Gilles. You’ll learn the myriad ways you can use handmade paper. Afterwards, spend some time in our boutique and choose papers, artworks, mememtos or supplies to create your own work of art (water colours, inks, sheet pads, etc.)

 

Public tours have ended for this year. You can visit the Papeterie on Saturdays and Sundays between 10 a.m. and 3 p.m. until Thanksgiving.

Public tours

Duration : 20 to 30 minutes
Cost : $5,50 per person

Inscription and reservations mandatory

Package deals are also available from our partners:

> Passeport Attrait AML
> Musée Maritime
> Passeport Attrait Domaine Forget

School tours

Contact us to organize an outing with your students. We offer custom built tours, with the possibility of a paper production workshop.

Teachers who wish to tie in a tour of the Papeterie to their educational programmes (sciences, social studies, history, visual arts) will find us helpful in developing contents with and for them. We invite you to consult the chapter on – Paper…who invented it? to create study ideas.

Back To Top

La Papeterie Saint-Gilles, Paper Economuseum, is a social economy company that manufactures handmade cotton-based paper.

Keep in Touch
Follow Us

Visites

L’Économusée du papier

La Papeterie Saint-Gilles vous invite à venir rencontrer les artisans du papier fait main. Tradition séculaire qui se perd dans la nuit des temps (la Chine et le monde arabe auraient été les précurseurs), la fabrication de papier à partir de coton sera popularisé en occident dès le XIIIe siècle.

Venez visiter un atelier de travail typique dans un environnement historique unique, où des artisans vous partagerons leur savoir-faire. Découvrez les étapes de la fabrication du papier, son histoire et l’origine de la Papeterie Saint-Gilles. Apprenez les mille et une utilisations du papier fait main. Vous pourrez compléter votre activité par la section boutique et vous procurer du papier, une œuvre, un souvenir ou des fournitures de création (aquarelles, encres, tablettes de feuilles, etc)

Les visites grand public sont terminées pour cette année. Vous pouvez passer à la Papeterie les samedis et dimanches entre 10h et 15h jusqu’à l’Action de Grâce.

Visites grand public

Durée : 20 à 30 minutes
Tarif : 5,50$ par personne

Inscription et réservation obligatoires

Des forfaits sont aussi disponibles auprès de nos partenaires:

> Passeport Attrait AML
> Musée Maritime
> Passeport Attrait Domaine Forget

Visites scolaires

Contactez-nous pour organiser une sortie avec votre classe. Nous offrons des visites sur mesure, avec possibilité d’atelier de fabrication de papier.

Aux enseignants qui souhaitent arrimer la visite à leur programme éducatif (sciences, univers social, histoire, arts plastiques) nous sommes disponibles pour développer des contenus en collaboration. Nous vous invitons à consulter notre section > Le papier… qui l’a inventé ? pour élaborer des pistes de travail.

Retour en haut

La Papeterie Saint-Gilles, Économusée du papier, est une entreprise d’économie sociale de fabrication artisanale de papiers fait main à base de coton.

Gardons contact!
Suivez-nous!